Putin says will accept only rubles for gas sales to ‘unfriendly nations’

Belarus could join Russia’s war against Ukraine ‘in next few days’: Report

“The changes will only affect the currency of payment, which will be changed to Russian roubles,” he said.

Putin said the government and central bank had one week to come up with a solution on how to move these operations to the Russian currency and that Gazprom would be ordered to make the corresponding changes to gas contracts.

Also read | Russian spies in Poland?: Country expels 45 Russian diplomats for espionage

Russia came up with a list of “unfriendly” countries in the wake of sanctions announced by the West.

The list of countries includes the United States, European Union member states, Britain, Japan, Canada, Norway, Singapore, South Korea, Switzerland and Ukraine.

(With inputs from agencies)