Tom Latham’s 145*, Kane Williamson’s 94* allows NZ defeat India by 7 wickets to acquire 1st ODI

Following the 3 T20Is, the action moved to the a few-match ODI sequence concerning India and hosts New Zealand. In the ODI sequence opener, held at Eden Park, Auckland, on Friday (November 25), the Black Caps rode on a splendid 145 not out from Tom Latham and captain Kane Williamson’s continuous 94 not out to chase down India’s 306/7 and get a 1- guide.

Opting to bowl first, Williamson & Co. experienced to wrestle to get previous Shikhar Dhawan-Shubman Gill. The opening pair added an impressive 124-run initial-wicket stand prior to Lockie Ferguson removed Gill for 50 whilst stand-in captain Shikhar Dhawan fell for a 77-ball 72 off Tim Southee. Shreyas Iyer then stitched a critical wicket with Sanju Samson (a operate-a-ball 36) after Ferguson taken out Rishabh Pant and Suryakumar Yadav by bowling some difficult lengths on a compact floor. Iyer-Samson’s 94-operate fifth-wicket partnership took India nearer to the 300-operate mark before Washington Sundar’s immediate cameo (16-ball 37*) took India to 306/7. Iyer leading-scored with a calculative 76-ball 80.

In the run-chase, NZ started out perfectly just before Finn Allen, Devon Conway and Daryl Mitchell fell to go away hosts reeling at 88 for 3. Umran Malik, debuting in the format, amazed in his early overs ahead of Latham took on each individual Indian bowler. India went with only 5 bowlers and compensated the selling price soon after Latham-Willianson’s partnership stretched further more.

Though the NZ skipper performed a composed knock, Latham smashed Shardul Thakur, Arshdeep Singh, Yuzvendra Chahal as the Kiwis chased down a par-score in Auckland. The duo stitched a record 221-run fourth-wicket stand to go past the end line.

Optimum partnerships for NZ vs India in ODIs
221*K Williamson – T Latham Auckland 2022
200 R Taylor – T Latham Mumbai WS 2017
190 R Taylor – S Styris Dambulla 2010
181 A Parore – K Rutherford Baroda 1994

Latham’s 145*, laced with 19 fours and five sixes, ensured he walked away with the Player-of-the-Match award. The 2nd and penultimate ODI is on Sunday (November 27) in Hamilton.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *