Jerry Stackhouse, Jason Brown Named To N.C. Sports Hall Of Fame … – UNC Athletics

CHAPEL HILL, N.C. – Jason Brown, a standout center for the University of North Carolina football team and Baltimore Ravens, and Jerry Stackhouse, the 1994 Atlantic Coast Conference Tournament Most Valuable Player and 18-year NBA veteran, are the latest Tar Heel student-athletes to be selected for enshrinement in the North Carolina Sports Hall of Fame.
Brown and Stackhouse are among 15 in the Class of 2023, which also includes RickBarnes, Jeff Davis, Donald Evans, Tom Fazio, Ellen Griffin, Tom Higgins, Clarkston Hines, Bob “Stonewall” Jackson, Trudi Lacey, Ronald Rogers, John Sadri, Curtis Strange and Rosie Thompson.
The newest inductees will be enshrined during the 59th annual Induction Celebration at 7 p.m. on Friday, April 21, at the Raleigh Convention Center.
“This year’s class joining the North Carolina Sports Hall of Fame once again reflects the great variety and rich sports heritage that the hall highlights for our state,” said Dr. Jerry McGee, president of the hall’s Board of Directors. “This group and their collective accomplishments in specific areas, from great athletes to highly successful coaches to special contributors, create another exciting chapter for the hall. We are extremelyexcited about honoring these outstanding individuals in our induction celebration.”
A native of Henderson, Brown attended Northern Vance High School, where he excelled in football and track and field. He began his collegiate career as an offensive tackle then played three seasons at center, where he earned first-team All-ACC honors in 2004. He was drafted by the Ravens, then signed a five-year deal in 2009 with the St. Louis Rams that made him the highest-paid center in the league. He retired from professional football in 2012 and became a farmer in Louisburg, maintaining First Fruits Farms, where he grows produce and donates crops to food pantries.
Stackhouse, a native of Kinston, was a Parade All-America at Kinston High School. He was the ACC Tournament MVP as a freshman in 1994 and a consensus first-team All-America and Sports Illustrated’s National Player of the Year in 1995. He led the Tar Heels to the Final Four as a sophomore, scoring 18 points in the Elite Eight vs. top-seed Kentucky to earn Most Outstanding Player honors in the Southeast Regional. He was the third pick in the 1995 Draft and went on to score more than 16,000 points in the NBA. He was an All-Star in 2000 and 2001. He is currently the head coach at Vanderbilt.
Brown and Stackhouse are the 65th and 66th members of the North Carolina Sports Hall of Fame with direct connections to the University of North Carolina as a player, coach, administrator or alumnus who was a member of the sports media.
The North Carolina Sports Hall of Fame was established in 1963. A permanent exhibit, the North Carolina Sports Hall of Fame is located on the third floor of the N.C. Museumof History in Raleigh and features over 200 significant objects and memorabilia donated by inductees.
The museum is open Monday through Saturday from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. and Sundayfrom noon to 5 p.m. Admission is free.
Ticket information for the Induction Celebration is available at
University of North Carolina Members of the NC Sports Hall of Fame
(as of Jan. 24, 2023)
Donna Andrews (women’s golf)
Scott Bankhead (baseball)
George Barclay (football)
Jim Beatty (men’s track)
Pete Brennan (men’s basketball)
Rod Broadway (football)
Mack Brown (football)
Jason Brown (football)
Kelvin Bryant (football)
Jack Cobb (men’s basketball)
Dennis Craddock (cross country, track and field)
Brad Daugherty (men’s basketball)
Walter Davis (men’s basketball)
Anson Dorrance (women’s soccer)
Bill Dooley (football)
Laura Dupont (women’s tennis)
Woody Durham (media)
Chuck Erickson (athletic director, golf)
Bob Fetzer (athletic director, track and field)
Raymond Floyd (men’s golf)
Phil Ford (men’s basketball)
Mike Fox (baseball)
Lee Gliarmis Sr. (football, men’s soccer)
Bill Guthridge (men’s basketball)
Marshall Happer (men’s tennis)
Dee Hardison (football)
Sylvia Hatchell (women’s basketball)
Bunn Hearn (baseball)
Ken Huff (football)
Antawn Jamison (men’s basketball)
Bobby Jones (men’s basketball)
Michael Jordan (men’s basketball)
Charlie Justice (football)
Clyde King (baseball)
Davis Love III (men’s golf)
Page Marsh (women’s golf)
Bob McAdoo (men’s basketball)
Don McCauley (football)
Monk McDonald (men’s basketball)
Bones McKinney (men’s basketball)
Paul Miller (football)
Allen Morris (men’s tennis)
Hugh Morton (photo journalism)
Bob Quincy (sports information)
Julius Peppers (football)
Walter Rabb (baseball)
Lennie Rosenbluth (men’s basketball)
Lee Shaffer (men’s basketball)
Karen Shelton (field hockey)
Floyd “Chunk” Simmons (men’s track)
Charlotte Smith (women’s basketball)
Dean Smith (men’s basketball)
Jerry Stackhouse (men’s basketball)
Ed Sutton (football)
John Swofford (football, director of athletics)
Danny Talbott (football/baseball)
Jake Wade (media)
Tony Waldrop (men’s track)
Sue Walsh (women’s swimming)
Harvie Ward (men’s golf)
Art Weiner (football)
Carla Werden (women’s soccer)
Burgess Whitehead (baseball)
Roy Williams (men’s basketball)
Harry Williamson (men’s track)
James Worthy (men’s basketball)

Print Friendly Version